April 24-25 2003: Multidisciplinary Workshop on Automatic Particle Selection

April 24-25, 2003

Center for Integrative Molecular Biosciences (CIMBio)
The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI), La Jolla, California

Sponsored by the National Resource for Automated Molecular Microscopy (NRAMM)

Hosted by the National Resource for Automated Molecular Microscopy (NRAMM) and Department of Cell Biology at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI)

The two-day workshop will provide a forum for discussion about state of the art techniques and technology for automatic particle selection. Two themes will be pursued at the workshop, including: (i) bring together representative interested researchers from multidisciplinary scientific communities, including cryo-electron microscopy, computer vision, pattern recognition, computational geometry, etc, to exchange ideas, techniques, and software tools for automatic particle selection. (ii) Establish a common ground to evaluate existing and future methods for particle selection. This common ground may consist of particle selection criteria, benchmark particles, agreed-upon image datasets, and performance metrics. The form of the workshop includes oral presentations, panel discussions, and a poster session. All participants are encouraged to submit a poster. There is no charge for registration, but the workshop is limited to 30 participants. The registration deadline is March 10, 2003. To apply, please send emails to zhu4@scripps.edu providing some information on your background and addressing briefly the reasons for attending the workshop. Click here to download the PDF flyer.

Final Program

Final Report


Chandrajit Bajaj (University of Texas at Austin)
Timothy S. Baker (Purdue University)
Marshall Bern (Palo Alto Research Center)
Bridget Carragher (The Scripps Research Institute)
Herbert Edelsbrunner (Duke University)
Robert M. Glaeser (UC Berkeley)
David J. Kriegman (UC San Diego)
Steve J. Ludtke (Baylor College of Medicine)
Ravi Malladi (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
Pawel Penczek (University of Texas-Houston)
Jasper R. Plaisier (Leiden University)
Clinton S. Potter (The Scripps Research Institute)
Bimal K. Rath (Wadsworth Center)
Alan Roseman (The Medical Research Council)
Fred J. Sigworth (Yale University)
Yuanxin Zhu (The Scripps Research Institute)


Yuanxin Zhu, Bridget Carragher, and Clinton S. Potter
National Resource for Automated Molecular Microscopy, The Scripps Research Institute


Particle Selection Bakeoff Travel and Accommodation Automatic Particle Picking


Yuanxin Zhu
E-mail: zhu4@scripps.edu
voice: 858-784-9092
fax: 858-784-9090